Interviewee Profile

Name: Tendol
(Alias: No)

Gender: Female

Interview Age: 75

Date of Birth: 1935

Birthplace: Seralung, Utsang, Tibet

Year Left Tibet: 1959

Profession: Dairy Farming, Farming

Monk/Nun: No

Political Prisoner: No

Interview Details

Interview No.: 58M

Date: 2010-04-07

Language: Tibetan

Location: Doeguling Settlement, Mundgod, Karnataka, India

Categories: Culture and History

Keywords: childhood memories, customs/traditions, nomadic life, Utsang, childbirth, clothing/weaving, marriage practices

Summary:

Tendol was the second youngest child in a family of 13 children. She grew up grazing cows and sheep from the age of 10. She learned to milk, make cow dung cakes, spin wool and weave woolen cloth. She talks about how she spent her days fetching water, performing various household chores and reciting a few prayers learned from her mother.

Tendol shares the story about her marriage at the age of 21. Both her parents had passed away by then and her brother arranged a marriage for her. With one day's notice she was married to a man she had never seen before. She moved into his house and performed similar chores as she had done in her parents' home. She relates her experience of her first child birth and the social customs related to the birth of a child.

Interview Team:

  • Rebecca Novick (Interviewer)
  • Ronny Novick (Videographer)
  • Tenzin Yangchen (Interpreter)
Interview Video

Link: Watch On Youtube

Topic: Interview with Tendol on 4/7/2010

Length: 00:37:57


© 2009-2018 Tibet Oral History Project. These translations and transcripts are provided for individual research purposes only. For all other uses, including publication, reproduction and quotation beyond fair use, permission must be obtained in writing from: Tibet Oral History Project, P.O. Box 6464, Moraga, CA 94570-6464. Privacy Policy